No More Resolutions

Whatever You Decide to Do Make Sure it Makes You Happy

Why is it that at the beginning of every year I feel compelled to finally remember what it is I set out to do in the last year and every year I SMH (shake my head–oh yeah, new slang kids these days are using that I learned in 2013) at the things that I didn’t accomplish? (Oh say..make no more excuses for not writing on my blog and then let a year pass by?)

Perhaps that makes me like so many others out there who make New Years resolutions only to find that not even a month later we weren’t able to keep them.  Kudos to the people who make resolutions each year and are able to keep them–please share how you do it because I tell you, I’m jealous.

I’m always the one who swears that I don’t make New Years resolutions for exactly that reason–why make a goal just because it’s the beginning of a new year if I’m only going to be disappointed that I couldn’t keep it?

On that same note, I have been thinking lately that I need something more.  Do you ever feel like you’re stuck?  You have no reason to feel like you need something more to quench your thirst for adventure and life because you have a wonderful and supportive family, amazing husband (did I mention I tied the knot last year? Perhaps to come soon in another post), friends who are always there for you and an excellent job.  But something’s missing.

I’ll be honest, I haven’t quite figured out what it is that’s “missing.”  But at least I’m on to the fact that it is, right?  I know what makes me happy but it’s trying to figure out how to balance life with more of what makes me happy and less of what makes me feel…meh.

Despite that I am looking for something to really get me going, to make me excited to wake up everyday and fighting to fall asleep at night because I just. can’t. get. enough. I don’t think making a resolution to live happier, be healthier, or travel the world is going to help me find it.

So I’ll put it out there that this year I’m not making resolutions. I’m going to live by a new mantra–“whatever you decide to do, make sure it makes you happy.”  In the end, whether I’m eating or traveling, spending time with friends and family or even working, I’m only doing it this year if it really, truly makes me happy.

Here’s to hoping I figure out what that is and if you feel the same way–you do too in 2014!

Leave a comment