Dreams to See the World

Sometimes I wish that I didn’t have to work and all I had to do was travel.  Wouldn’t that be a dream job?

I have to admit, I was a very lucky kid.  Growing up I had the privilege of being exposed to many different cultures and cities all over the world.  

IMG_1639

My dad, who worked for IBM for over 20 years, let my mom, brother, sister and me tag along on many of his business trips and on top of that, we followed him from state to state as he worked his way up in Corporate America.  While I was too young at the time to really understand or to appreciate it as fully as I should have back then,  I can say now that growing up as a kid who moved from place to place gave me a different perspective on the world.  

I truly believe that I’m more adaptable, confident, and a bigger dreamer because of the many experiences and opportunities that my dad’s job allowed for us.  While he may have not been able to be around as much as we all would’ve liked, I know that he made that sacrifice to help make sure we lived a great and fulfilling life growing up; and we did and continue to do so.  Thanks Dad :). 

Living as an IBM kid gave me the travel bug from a young age and always made me believe that I was meant to travel the world someday.

Now that I’m older I look back and think, how did I think I could travel the world? I wish it was just that easy to have the time and the money to just hop on a plane with a backpack (ok a suitcase, I’ll admit, I’m not one to travel light) in one hand and my passport in the other.  But I know now it’s a catch 22. When you don’t have the money to travel you have all the time, but when you do have the money you just can’t find the time.

I mentioned before that I like to make lists so here it goes, another list.  Here’s a list of  the places that are travel wish list for just the next couple years because honestly, the list could go on and on.

Mari’s Travel Must Sees:

1.  Bali (Coming Soon! Stay tuned to hear more.)

2. Kaua’i

3.  Moloka’i

4.  New Zealand

5.  China

Do you love to travel?  What’s on your list for places that you have been day dreaming about visiting lately?

2 thoughts on “Dreams to See the World

  1. So you’re a Hawaiian and you haven’t been to Kaua’i? I win! lol But really, it is a beautiful place! Can’t wait to see you check off places from your list!

    And congrats on another post so soon! 🙂

Leave a comment